February 10, 2016

DNR issues burn ban for 11 counties

Extremely dry grass in Madison, which got just 1/3 of an inch of rain for the entire month of June. (PHOTO: Jackie Johnson)

Due to continued dry weather, the Department of Natural Resources is banning the burning of any material outdoors in 11 southern Wisconsin counties until further notice. The restrictions apply to all of Crawford, Richland, Sauk, Columbia, Marquette, and Green Lake counties, along with portions of Iowa, Grant, Dane, Adams, and Juneau counties.

Under the emergency rules, no fireworks, burn piles or barrels, campfires or outdoor disposal of ash and charcoal is allowed. Smoking tobacco products outdoors is also prohibited. The restrictions only apply to areas outside of incorporated cities and villages.

The DNR says the restrictions were issued because of growing concerns about wildfires. A severe lack of rain in June has resulted in tinder-dry conditions across much of southern Wisconsin.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page