February 14, 2016

Dayne says his success is due to team work (AUDIO)

More than 13 years after running to the top of the NCAA career rushing list

Ron Dayne in the 1999 Rose Bowl

Ron Dayne in the 1999 Rose Bowl

and winning the Heisman Trophy, two-time Rose Bowl MVP and former Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne has been chosen to join an elite group.  The National Football Foundation announced yesterday that Dayne has been elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Dayne will be the 13th Badger inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, joining his former coach and current UW Athletic Director, Barry Alvarez, who was part of this year’s Hall of Fame selection committee.

The other Badgers in the Hall, Wisconsin’s only other Heisman winner, Alan Ameche, Marty Below, Robert Butler, Pat Harder, Elroy Crazylegs” Hirsch, Pat O’Dea, Pat Richter, Dave Schreiner and coaches Phil King, George Little and Harry Stuhldreher.

AUDIO: Barry Alvarez says Ron Dayne deserved this :16

AUDIO: Ron Dayne asked what he thinks about this honor :15

While the official NCAA record book credits Dayne with 6,397 career rushing yards, the most in FBS history, Dayne actually ran for 7,125 yards if you include the four bowl games he played in.  The NCAA now counts bowl games and conference championship games in its yardage.

AUDIO: Dayne asked if he thinks his record will be broken :20

Barry Alvarez says Dayne could still fit in this pass happy age in college football.  He credits Dayne for helping to brand Wisconsin football.

AUDIO: Alvarez says Dayne helped brand Wisconsin football :13

Print pagePDF pageEmail page