February 7, 2016

Feds designate 24 Wisconsin counties as natural disaster areas

Federal officials have signed off on a request to designate 24 Wisconsin counties as natural disaster areas, following excessive rain and snow this spring that resulted in crop losses.

The designations cover counties primarily in west-central and eastern Wisconsin, which experienced multiple thaws and freezes, along with heavy rain, between January and May.

The state requested the designations, which were approved Wednesday by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The status allows farmers in those counties, who meet certain requirements, to apply for assistance such as emergency loans.

Counties receiving the designation include Brown, Buffalo, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Dodge, Eau Claire, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Pierce, Shawano, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Waupaca, and Washington.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page