February 11, 2016

Packers’ Hall of Fame Inc. to honor Matthews

The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame Inc. announced that Packers’ linebacker Clay

Clay Matthews

Clay Matthews

Matthews will be honored with the Hall’s ‘Most Valuable Player’ award at the 43rd Packers Hall of Fame Induction Banquet, to be held this Saturday night in the Lambeau Field Atrium.

Matthews became the first player in franchise history to earn Pro Bowl recognition in each of his first four seasons in the league.

Matthews played in 12 games, posting 60 tackles (45 solo), including 13 sacks, which is the second highest mark of his career.  He put up solid numbers despite missing a month of action due to injury.

The 2012 season also marked his third double-digit sack campaign, placing him third all-time in team history behind defensive ends Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila and Reggie White (four).

Former players Chris Jacke and Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila, along with contributor Emil Fischer will become the newest members of the Hall of Fame that evening.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page