February 12, 2016

Wardle, Sykes and Brown claim top Horizon League honors

The Green Bay Phoenix men’s basketball team seemingly grabbed all of the

Brian Wardle

Brian Wardle

Horizon League postseason hardware.

Head coach Brian Wardle was named Coach of the Year, junior guard Keifer Sykes was named Player of the Year and senior Alec Brown was named the Defensive Player of the Year.  Green Bay becomes just the second team to claim each of those three honors in the same season (Butler, 2009-10).

Sykes and Brown were each voted to the 2013-14 All-Horizon League First-Team while Brown was joined by sophomore Jordan Fouse on the Horizon League All-Defensive Team.

Wardle is the third Phoenix coach in its Division 1 history to earn Coach of the Year accolades (Dick Bennett, 1990-91 and 1991-92; Mike Heideman, 1995-96). Sykes becomes just the third player (Tony Bennett, Jeff Nordgaard) in Green Bay’s Division I program history to earn conference player of the year honors and the first since Nordgaard in 1995-96.  Brown joins Terry Evans (2007-08) as the only two Phoenix players to win Defensive Player of the Year.


Print pagePDF pageEmail page