February 9, 2016

Kiprono wins third Bellin (Video)

After winning in 2011 and 2012, Allan Kiprono returned to the winners circle, capturing the 2014 Bellin 1oK race in 28 minutes, 41 seconds.

Running in near ideal cool temperatures, the 24-year-old Kiprono shaved a minute off the time of last years winner.  He beat his training partner and reigning Bellin champion Lani Rutto, who finished in 29:44.

39-year-old Boston Marathon Champion Meb Keflezighi finished third in 29:58.

In the women’s competition, 25-year-old Kenyan Risper Gesabwa crossed the finish line first in 32:53 to become the third female participant in the event’s 38-year history to win the race in three consecutive years.  Her winning time was 5-seconds faster than her winning time in 2013 and 14 seconds faster than her 2012 victory.

Gesabwa joins Elana Meyer and Kim Merritt as the only women to win three straight Bellin titles.  Nobody has ever won four.

Following is video from the early stages of Saturday’s race.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page