February 13, 2016

Packers add two to Hall of Fame

Ahman Green & Ken Ruettgers / Photo Courtesy of WLUK-Fox 11

Ahman Green & Ken Ruettgers / Photo Courtesy of WLUK-Fox 11

The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame added two new members over the weekend.

Former running back Ahman Green and offensive tackle Ken Ruettgers are the two latest former Packer greats to be added to the Packers Hall of Fame.

Green remains the team’s all-time leading rusher, accumulating 8,322 yards during his career.  He holds a number of franchise records.

Ruettgers was a first-round draft pick in 1985 (7th overall) and anchored the left tackle position for a decade.  He started 140 games during his career and retired during the Packers 1996 Super Bowl season.

First year running back Eddie Lacy was given the organizations Rookie of the Year award, while wide receiver Jordy Nelson accepted the MVP award.

Former Packers wide receiver Antonio Freeman was honored for his catch in the 2002 Monday Night Football game against the Vikings that he made on his back.  He was give the Memorable Moments in Packers history award.

Herman Reckleberg was honored with the Bart and Cherry Starr award.


Print pagePDF pageEmail page