September 19, 2014

Badgers to appear on ESPN/CBS 15 times this coming season

The Big Ten Conference announced its 2014-15 men’s basketball conference games to be televised by CBS Sports or an ESPN network on Thursday and the University of Wisconsin will be well represented this season.

The Badgers are scheduled to appear on CBS or the ESPN family of networks 15 times in 2014-15 with potential for an additional four games on those outlets.  The Badgers are also set for 11 games to be aired on the Big Ten Network.  In total, all 31 of Wisconsin’s games are scheduled for national television.

Wisconsin will open with an exhibition contest against UW-Parkside before officially tipping off the season on Nov. 14 against Northern Kentucky.

Badgers short on tailbacks

Gary Andersen

Gary Andersen

Wisconsin Badger freshman tailback Taiwan Deal is expected to be out until the second or third Big Ten Conference game with a hand injury.  Another Wisconsin freshman tailback, Caleb Kinlaw, will redshirt this season.  He’s been dealing with shoulder and hip issues.

To help with the lack of depth, coach Gary Andersen said sophomore cornerback Dare Ogunbowale was moved to tailback during this bye week.  The Badgers could also move sophomore free safety Leo Musso on a part-time basis.

The Badgers are off this weekend.  They’ll return to Camp Randall Stadium a week from Saturday against Bowling Green.


Badgers injury update

Warren Herring

Warren Herring

The Wisconsin Badgers will have to play without starting defensive lineman Warren Herring for at least a month and fullback Derek Watt for even longer.

Herring injured his right knee on the final play of the third quarter during the season opening 28-24 loss to LSU last Saturday.  He underwent knee surgery on Wednesday and is expected to miss four to six weeks.

The Badgers open Big Ten play in four weeks at Northwestern on Oct. 4.

Watt injured his right foot in the LSU game.  He’s not expected to return until early November.

There’s good news for defensive end Konrad Zagzebski.  He was limited in practice on Tuesday and Wednesday, but he is expected to play Saturday against Western Illinois.

Zagzebski suffered a shot to the head/neck area in the first quarter of last Saturday’s game and lost feeling in his left side.  He was taken to a hospital for precautionary reasons but made the return trip home with the team.  Results from an MRI and a CAT scan were negative.


Badgers kick off season tonight

Melvin Gordon - Photo: David Stluka

Melvin Gordon – Photo: David Stluka

The Wisconsin Badgers can make a major statement tonight when they open the college football season against LSU at NRG Stadium in Houston tonight (8pm).

Redshirt junior Tanner McEvoy is set to make his first start at quarterback for the Badgers.  The last time he started a game at quarterback came during his only season at Arizona Western College in the 2012 El Toro Bowl.  He started three games for the Badgers last season at safety.

Wisconsin coach Gary Andersen wants a quarterback that is a dual threat, being able to run as well as pass.  McEvoy has the running part down, but how will he do throwing the football.  The Badgers success tonight may greatly depend on it.

But Wisconsin’s bread and butter is still their running game and they feature an offensive line with plenty of experience.  That line will be blocking for Heisman Trophy candidate Melvin Gordon, and Corey Clement, who will share time with Gordon this season.

While the quarterback position is going through some change, the biggest change comes on defense where the Badgers feature a new front seven.  That unit will be tested by LSU’s veteran offensive line and talented running backs.  LSU hasn’t settled on a quarterback.  Freshman Brandon Harris and sophomore Anthony Jennings will both play against the Badgers tonight.

LSU’s lack of experience at quarterback could be the difference for the Badgers, who are trying to pull off the upset.  Wisconsin enters the game as a 5 1/2 point underdog.


Big Ten releases conference hoops slate

The Big Ten Conference released the 2014-15 mens basketball schedule on Thursday.

The Wisconsin Badgers, who return seven of the top eight players from last season’s Final Four run, will play four of their first six games at the Kohl Center.  But they’ll also play four of their final six games on the road, including the last two at Minnesota and at Ohio State.

The Badgers finished second in the Big Ten last season at 12-6.  They’ll open league play on New Year’s Eve against Penn State at the Kohl Center.

The Badgers open their season Nov. 5 with an exhibition against UW-Parkside.  They’ll host Northern Kentucky in their regular season opener on Nov. 14.

Wisconsin will host Duke on Dec. 3 in the Big Ten/ACC Challenge and will travel to Marquette a few days later (Dec. 6).