Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez will serve on the first college football playoff committee.  Alvarez is one of 13-members on the

Barry Alvarez

Barry Alvarez

committee which was released today.

The four-team playoff format starts next season and replaces the Bowl Championship series.

Alvarez said the members of the committee will talk weekly and rate teams, one through twenty-five.  Those rankings won’t be made public until midseason.

The teams selected by the committee will be seeded #1 vs. #4 and #2 vs. #3.  The semifinal games will rotate among bowl games in Atlanta, Dallas, Miami, New Orleans, Pasadena and Phoenix.

The first semifinals will be played Jan. 1, 2015 at the Rose Bowl and the Sugar Bowl.  The first National Championship will follow on Jan. 12, 2015 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

AUDIO: Barry Alvarez is honored to be part of the committee :13

AUDIO: Alvarez says he never gets used to the critics :22

AUDIO: Barry Alvarez on bias :14

Share the News