ceremony051807.jpg Wisconsin police officers killed in the line of duty are honored during a ceremony on the Capitol lawn. Four officers had their names added on Friday to the state's memorial for those killed in the line of duty.

Governor Jim Doyle says their sacrifices are a testament to the commitment of Wisconsin's police force. Doyle says they represent the best in public service. He says they gave their lives to make sure we remain safe.

The officers honored this year are Sawyer County Sheriff's Deputies Carl Johnson and Fred Scott, Calumet County Deputy Charles Hanson, and Eau Claire County Deputy Steven Hahn.

Governor Doyle also joined Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen in honoring Kenosha County Sheriff's Deputy Frank Fabiano, who was killed this week during a traffic stop. Van Hollen says Fabiano died in service to his community and defense of the law.

Ceremonies were held statewide this week to honor fallen officers.

AUDIO: Andrew Beckett reports (MP3 1:16)

Share the News