Two current and six former Badgers were selected to the 23-player roster fof the U.S. Women’s National Team, which was announced by USA Hockey today.  Five of the Badgers were part of the 2009 NCAA Championship team, which includes Patty Kasmaier award winner Jessie Vetter (pictured), Erika Lawler, Meghan Duggan, Hilary Knight and Angie Keseley.  Former Olympian Molly Engstrom is the only Badger with Olympic experience representing Team USA.  Kerry Weiland and Jinelle Zaugg-Siergiej have also had plenty of experience on a U.S. Women’s National Team.Kazmaier Award winner Jessie Vetter

Weiland, Engstrom, Knight, Duggan, Vetter and Lawler were members of the U.S. Women’s National Team that captured back-to-back gold medals at the 2008 and 2009 International Ice Hockey Federation World Women’s Championship.

The team will be centered in the Twin Cities and will take part in the Qwest Tour, which is a 10-game, nine-city domestic tour that begins on Sept. 25 in St. Paul, Minnesota, and concludes just prior to the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, B.C.

In addition to the 10 Qwest Tour stops, Team USA will compete in two international tournaments, as well as three games against the Canadian National Team in Canada and additional games against Minnesota high school boys’ teams.

Wisconsin head coach Mark Johnson will coach the squad, which will conclude play in the 2010 Winter Olympic games in Vancouver.

Share the News