Federal aid is on the way to five Wisconsin Counties that have received a disaster declaration, following recent flooding. The President on Sunday made an official disaster declaration for Crawford La Crosse, Richland, Sauk and Vernon counties. The decision came just a day after teams from the Federal Emergency Management Agency were in the state to survey the damage done by flooding after recent heavy rains.

FEMA director R. David Paulison says that aid will supplement state and local efforts. Residents in the disaster zones will qualify for up to $28,200. It can be used for repairing or rebuilding homes, property loss, or rental assistance. However, Paulison says the federal aid will not cover all losses and not everyone will get the full amount.

FEMA will be providing residents in disaster areas with information in the next few days on how to get aid. After that, Paulison says any money could be distributed within days. 

AUDIO: Andrew Beckett reports (MP3 1:00)

Share the News