NFL teams voted Tuesday to expand the postseason by two teams, beginning with the upcoming 2020 season.  The vote during a league meeting held remotely follows the recommendation of the Competition Committee, Management Council Executive Committee and Media Committee on increasing the number of playoff teams from 12 to 14.

Two additional Wild Card teams, one each in the AFC and NFC, will qualify for the playoffs.  The No. 1 seed in each conference will receive a bye in the Wild Card round.  The remaining division champions in each conference with the best records will be seeded 2, 3 and 4, followed by the next three teams per conference with the best records seeded 5, 6, and 7.

Wild Card Weekend for the 2020 NFL season now will consist of three games on Saturday, January 9, and three games on Sunday, January 10, 2021.

The NFL last expanded the playoffs for the 1990 season, increasing from 10 to 12 the number of teams to qualify for the postseason.



Share the News