Jeff Janis (right) makes the final 53

Jeff Janis (right) makes the final 53

The Green Bay Packers released a total of 18 players and placed tackle Aaron Adams, LB Nate Palmer, TE Jake Stoneburner and DT Khyri Thornton on injured reserve.

The Packers released S Chris Banjo, WR Kevin Dorsey, LB Jake Doughty, T John Fullington, C Garth Gerhart, WR Alex Gillett, DT Carlos Gray, RB Michael Hill, LB Adrian Hubbard, G Jordan McCray, S Tanner Miller, TE Justin Perillo, RB LaDarius Perkins, DE Luther Robinson, CB Jumal Rolle, T Jeremy Vujnovich, WR Myles White and CB Ryan White.

It means the Packers will start the season with three quarterbacks, keeping both Scott Tolzien and Matt Flynn as backups behind Aaron Rodgers.  It’s not certain who will be Rodgers immediate backup.

Cutting Banjo means the Packers will go with four safeties, Morgan Burnett, Micah Hyde, Ha Ha Clinton-Dix and Sean Richardson.

At wide receiver, the Packers kept 7th round draft pick Jeff Janis.  Myles White, Kevin Dorsey and Alex Gillett were all competing for that fifth spot.

The Packers are also going with four running backs total, including fullback John Kuhn.  James Starks and DuJuan Harris are backups to Eddie Lacy.

The Packers return to practice on Sunday as they begin full preparations for Thursday’s season opener at Seattle.


Share the News