Alando Tucker University of Wisconsin senior Alando Tucker (pictured) is the Big Ten Player of the Year in voting by the Big Ten's coaches and media.

The 6'6 forward averaged 19.7 points and 6.1 rebounds in Big Ten play.  He's the sixth Badger to win the award and first since Devin Harris took home the award in 2004.

Tucker was the only unanimous first-team selection by both the coaches and the media.  It's the second straight year he's been named first-team All-Big Ten, making him the fifth Badger since 1948 to receive multiple first-team selections.  Tucker was a third-team selection in 2005.

Kammron Taylor , Michael Flowers and Brian Butch were also honored by the league.  Taylor was a second-team selection on both lists.  Flowers made the coaches' all-defensive team and was an honorable mention pick by the media.  Butch earned honorable mention honors from the coaches. 

Tucker was joined on the first team by fellow consensus choices Adam Haluska (Iowa), Drew Neitzel (Michigan State) and Greg Oden (Ohio State).  Purdue's Carl Landry was a first-team choice by the coaches while Mike Conley Jr., of Ohio State was named first team byt he media.

Ohio State head coach Thad Matta was named the league's Coach of the Year while Oden earned Freshman of the yearand Defensive Player of the Year honors.  OSU's Daequan Cook was tabbed Sixth Man of the Year.

Listen/Download – Tucker on being one of the best in UW history. :20
Listen/Download – Tucker on Big Ten Award. :16

Share the News