WIAA logoThe WIAA Board of Control voted 8-2 on Friday in favor of expanding the State Girls Softball Tournament from four divisions to five starting in 2017.  The five divisions puts the sport on par with baseball, which has four in the spring and one in the summer.

Division 1 will take the 112 schools with the largest enrollment.  Division 2 and 3 will take 79 schools each.  Division 4 takes 80 schools and division 5 gets the rest.

The new format will allow for eight Division 1 teams to qualify for state.  Every other division would get four teams.


Share the News