February 12, 2016

Walker declares state of emergency

Help is on the way to flood-stricken Wisconsin communities, as Governor Scott Walker has declared a State of Emergency in seven counties.

Residents and businesses in Crawford, Vernon, Ashland, Grant, Iowa, Richland and St. Croix counties will be eligible for additional state assistance. Walker also toured the flood damaged areas of southwestern Wisconsin Wednesday with the National Guard, Wisconsin Emergency Management, and local officials.

The declaration means state agencies will be available to assist areas impacted by the flooding, and the Wisconsin National Guard will help with cleanup and recovery.

Meanwhile, the National Weather Service predicts a break in the rain that’s been parked over much of the state, with a dry forecast for Friday and the weekend.


Print pagePDF pageEmail page